Spirals: the Koru and the Wonders of Nature

Kuru1Many, many moons ago I was introduced to the Maori symbol of the koru.  A koru, (Maori for loop),  is, according to Wikipedia,” a spiral shape based on the shape of a new unfurling silver fern frond and symbolizing new life, growth, strength and peace.”  Such principals are part and parcel of my belief system, so having something so beautiful to symbolize them suits me very well.

Spirals occur frequently in the natural world – David Attenborough recently presented a TV program about that.

Yesterday, I saw this lovely piece in a neighbourhood shop which sells the work of local craftspeople.  I ummed and ahhed about buying it, but decided to sleep on it and left the shop.  I’d not been back home long before I received a telephone call from my lovely sister asking if I had any idea what I’d like for my birthday…. well, numerically challenged as I am, even I can add up one and one and make two – so hey presto, this beautiful necklace is now my new ‘koru.’  You can’t really see from the photo, but there are sparkly highlights on some of the lines.  When I went in to the shop this morning I discovered that the person who was ‘on duty’ in the shop was actually the craftsperson who made it and she was pleased that I was so delighted with it.

 

3 thoughts on “Spirals: the Koru and the Wonders of Nature

Leave a Reply

